South-south governors meet in Rivers over ‘VAT, anti-open grazing’

17 Southern Governors set to meet in Lagos tomorrow

Governors of the south-south geo-political zone are currently meeting in Port Harcourt, Rivers state’s capital.

The six states in the zone are Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Edo, Rivers and Cross River.

Ben Ayade, governor of Cross River, is the only member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The rest of the governors belong to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

AdvertisementThe reason for the meeting is not yet known but it was learnt that discussions will revolve around issues such as value-added tax (VAT), anti-open grazing and security.

The Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) has been in a legal tussle with Rivers and Lagos state governments over VAT collection.

A court of appeal in Abuja ordered both Rivers and Lagos states to maintain the status quo pending the determination of an appeal filed by FIRS.

Nyesom Wike, Rivers governor, and Babajide Sanwo-Olu, his Lagos counterpart, have argued that their states will do more if they receive VAT.